Department of Stakeholder Analysis, Foresight Methodology & e-planning

Head: Professor Maria Giaoutzi, NTUA


Academic Manager: Dr. Ebun Akinsete

Administrative Manager: Klea Morianou




This department focuses on projects and original research geared towards engaging diverse groups of stakeholders using varied participatory and interactive methodologies, in order to key into more sustainable and resilient developmental pathways.  Our core areas of research include:  

  • Stakeholder Mapping and Analysis
  • Participatory Methodologies
  • Systems and Innovation Research
  • Scenario Development and Evaluation
  • Transition Management
  • e-Planning tools: GIS, visualisation, ICTs
  • Inclusive Governance
  • Spatial Planning: Renewable Energy, Transportation, Tourism, Regional Development
  • Blue/Green Infrastructure
  • Sustainable Development Planning and Policy

With emphasis on citizen and actor involvement, our work within the department  advances collaborative approaches towards sustainable outcomes within various spheres of activity such as; Social and Technological Innovations, Energy Transitions, Transboundary Resource Management and Governance.  Our multi-disciplinary team draws on global experience from Europe, America, Africa, and Asia; with expertise in academic research as well as practical project implementation.   



Indicative projects:

  • SIMRA: Social Innovation in Marginalised Rural Areas, European Union Horizon 2020
  • DAFNE: Decision Analytic Framework to explore the water-energy-food Nexus in complex transboundary water resources of fast developing countries, European Union Horizon 2020
  • BRIGAID: BRIdges the GAp for Innovations in Disaster resilience, European Union Horizon 2020  
  • SMIRES: Science and Management of Intermittent Rivers and Ephemeral Streams, European Union Horizon 2020
Back to top